2017 Tour de Yorkshire Route and Timings

      Comments Off on 2017 Tour de Yorkshire Route and Timings

More information has been released about this year’s Tour de Yorkshire.  From the timings that have now been made available there should be no real issue with access into and out of grounds along the route.  Its an opportunity to showcase your ground as the TV cameras will be rolling giving us worldwide exposure.  I am told that a commentary pack has been put together with good references to our Leagues and grounds and clubs.  Land Art anyone?

Looking at the timings, I think we might be ok accessing our grounds and exiting them without too much trouble. There are no plans to cancel fixtures that day. The timings have now been released:

Stage 2 – Saturday 29th April 2017 Women’s Race
Stage 2 – Saturday 29th April 2017 Men’s Race

The Asda Women’s Tour de Yorkshire kicks off an enticing double-header on Saturday with the world’s best female cyclists riding the exact same route as the men do on stage two. They get under way on the newly reopened Tadcaster Bridge at 9:15am and head to Knaresborough where the first intermediate sprint points are up for grabs at 9:53am. The riders continue on into the heart of Nidderdale where the brutish Côte de Lofthouse awaits them at 10:51am. Any contenders that fall behind there will be looking to get themselves back into the mix for the second sprint in Ripon at 11:38am and the pace is then unlikely to relent from then on until a frantic finale in Harrogate at 12:27pm.

The men meanwhile, will roll out of Tadcaster for the Stage of Historic Market Towns at 2:05pm and contest the Knaresborough sprint at 2:40pm. The Côte de Lofthouse must be overcome at 3:31pm before they reach Ripon for a second sprint at 4:13pm. The action will then culminate with a similarly fast finish in Harrogate at 4:56pm.
122.5km (76 miles)

There is more information on the Harrogate Borough Council website https://www.harrogate.gov.uk/tdy

Fixtures along the route:
Pateley Bridge 1st v Newby Hall 1st
Ripley, 1st v Burnt Yates, 1st
Studley Royal, 2nd v Blubberhouses, 1st
Bishop Thornton, 1st v Markington, 1st
Birstwith, 2nd v Killinghall, 1st
North Stainley, 1st v Kirkby Malzeard, 1st
Hampsthwaite, 2nd v Helperby, 2nd
Glasshouses, 1st v Newton-le-Willows, 1st
Masham, 2nd v Harrogate, 4th
West Tanfield, 2nd v Bishop Thornton, 2nd
Burnt Yates, 2nd v Beckwithshaw, 3rd
Dacre Banks, 2nd v Helperby, 3rd
Ripley, 3rd v Whixley, 2nd

It's only fair to share...Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on LinkedInPin on Pinterest